by Manny Faelnar

Canada’s Constitution was written in the two Official Languages at the time, French and English. Canada has since added a third official language for the Territory of Nunavut, the native Inuit Language. There is no national language.
The following countries have no national language but several official languages:

•India (22 official languages),
•South Africa (11 official languages. Other minority languages have official status in the communities used),
•Belgium (3 official languages),
•Switzerland (4 official languages).

Spain has no national language. While Spanish is an official language for the whole country, the languages of its Constitutionally recognized nationalities are Co-official in the Comunidades Autónomas where they are spoken.
Bolivia has no national language. While Spanish is an official language for the whole country, all 87 indigenous languages are official languages in this Constitutionally declared Plurilingual country.
In Peru, there is no national language.
While Spanish is official for the whole country, Aymara and Quechua and some smaller languages are official languages.
Paraguay has no national language. Guarani is Co-official with Spanish. Many Guarani speakers do not speak Spanish. Most Spanish speakers can speak Guarani.
Papua New Guinea has no national language. English is the language of national unity. Pissin and Mori are official languages.
Lastly, after a disastrous civil war caused by language, in Sri Lanka, Tamil and Sinhalese were made Co-national languages. The Constitution provided for English as the language of communication between the Tamil and Sinhalese communities.
The originally Jacobinist concept of a national language for nation building was adopted by the Fascists and was vigorously and oppressively promoted by Benito Mussolini in Italy and Francisco Franco in Spain. This is called Linguistic Fascism.
Fascism was the flavor of the era between WW I and WW II just as Communism was the flavor after WE II.Fascism influenced many countries and nation builders. Linguistic Fascism was adopted by Imperial Japan and Sun Yat Sen’s China. (Even now China is trying to suppress the Cantonese, Uigor and Tibetan languages)
Linguistic Fascism influenced Quezon and Recto in promoting a national language. Recto even cheated in the 1934-1935 Constitutional Convention to achieve his Fascist nationalistic aims. During the Japanese occupation, Fascist Japan, with Recto’s collaboration finally made Tagalog the national language to wean the people from English. Visayan guerrillas fought the puppet Tagalog Manila government.